Malone Award

LANCE MATHESON, associate professor of business information technology, received the 2017 Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities for his career-long commitment to internationalizing business education. Matheson led his first study-abroad program in 2000 and since then has conducted 32 others on five continents.

Read the full VT News press release

CASE Service Award

TOM TILLAR, former vice president for alumni relations, received the Frank L. Ashmore Award from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education in July for his lifetime achievement in higher education advancement. Tillar began his 47-year career at Virginia Tech in 1971 and continues to serve his alma mater as special assistant to Dean Robert Sumichrast.

Read the full VT News press release

Outstanding Woman in Travel Research

NANCY GARD MCGEHEE, head of the Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management, was recognized as one of the “Top Women in Travel” by Women in Travel and Tourism International. A faculty member at Virginia Tech since 2001, McGehee conducts research on rural tourism development and volunteer tourism management. She is among the top five percent of scholars worldwide in these two areas, based on citations.

Read the full VT News press release

Chief Innovation Officers Roundtable

DEVI R. GNYAWALI, head of the Department of Management and R.B. Pamplin Professor, presented his research and co-led the discussion as an expert panelist on the Chief Innovation Officers Roundtable luncheon at the UC Berkeley Haas School of Business. Gnyawali’s research interests include innovation, interplay of competition and cooperation, or co-opetition, and strategic alliances and networks.

Paper of the Year 2016

ZHENG “PHIL” XIANG, associate professor of hospitality and tourism management, received one of the two Papers of the Year 2016 awards from Electronic Markets, a leading international academic journal that offers a forum for research on networked business. Xiang’s co-authored paper, “Smart tourism: foundations and developments,” was published in the 25/3 (2015) issue.

Best Paper Award

EOJINA KIM, assistant professor of hospitality and tourism management, received the Best Paper Award at the Asia Pacific CHRIE Conference for a paper she co-authored. The paper, “Understanding Customer Perception of Restaurant Innovativeness and Customer Value Co-creation Behavior,” was one of 340 submitted to the conference.

Read more

Telly Awards

PRISM (Pamplin Re-Inventing Social Media), the college’s social media group, received two 2017 bronze Telly Awards for a video promoting the proposed Business Learning Community, now known as the Global Business and Analytics Complex. PRISM competed against professionals in one category and other students in the second category. The proposed Business Learning Community is an effort to expand Pamplin’s physical space and develop innovative program offerings.